o pa
e 2 58 %3¢
o o < 8 @ F
c Z A > U
@ m h 2
0 2 o®
o= » K Q
S = o
» Q g
3 o
-y
@ o
8 2 =
o e X
-] w O
3 s 2
& 2 @
- o =
m -
T = S
o > m =
» — ® O
® © 3
o L A—
2 2 S o
o > PG
o = 8:
;| S 3
S > Q
& e &
N xt.<
o mc
o
- 'ﬂ o
T Zg
= 3
(o
(1)
q
»
N
o
-_—
Nt

Mail your registration and $50.00 fee to:

Arkansas ADR Commission
Juvenile Court Overview
Justice Building
625 Marshall Street
Little Rock, AR 72201

Who should attend the
ARKANSAS JUVENILE

COURT OVERVIEW
FOR MEDIATORS?

This two and a half day course is required for media-
tor certification in the juvenile category by the Ar-
kansas ADR Commission.

Prerequisites for attending this training are:

1) a Master’s Degree or higher; OR have a
bachelor’s level degree with at least two
years work experience in family issues, and

2) have completed the 40 Hour Basic Media-
tion training and 20 Family Mediation train-
ing; OR a 40 Hour Family Mediation train-
ing.

Participants who complete this workshop are not

automatically certified by the Arkansas ADR Com-
mission.

Certification is achieved only by successfully com-
pleting the certification application process, which
includes meeting education, training, practical expe-
rience, and ethical standards.

Arkansas
Alternative Dispute
Resolution Commission

is pleased to present

ARKANSAS
JUVENILE

COURT

OVERVIEW
FOR MEDIATORS

DECEMBER 11-13, 2013

Room 101, JUSTICE BUILDING
625 MARSHALL STREET
LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS

COST: $50.00
Includes all materials and lunches

REGISTRATION DEADLINE:
TUESDAY, DECEMBER 3, 2013



ARKANSAS

JUVENILE COURT

OVERVIEW
FOR
MEDIATORS

December 11-13, 2013
Wednesday, Dec. 11 & Thursday, Dec. 12
8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Friday, December 13, 2013
8:30 am - 1:00 pm

JUSTICE BUILDING
625 MARSHALL STREET
LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS

COST: $50.00
Includes all materials and lunches

This two and a half day course is a combina-
tion of highly interactive live and video
presentations by Arkansas judges and other
experts covering the following topics:

eChild & Adolescent Development
eDependency & Neglect

oFINS (Families in Need of Services)
eJuvenile Delinquency

eDynamics of Juvenile Mediation

oDCFS Regulations

This workshop does not count as continuing media-
tion education (CME) since it is a training program;
however, it will be submitted for CLE credit.

REQUIREMENTS FOR THE CERTIFICATION OF MEDIATORS FOR CIRCUIT COURT
(Revised 2012)

Juvenile Division Mediators

a. Training
1. Have completed a minimum of 40 hoursin a

[EEN

family mediation training program approved
by the Commission; or

Have completed 40 hours of basic mediation
training with an additional 20 hours of fami-
ly mediation training in a program devoted
entirely to family or parenting mediation
which is approved by the Commission; and

Have completed a course on the Arkansas
juvenile court system approved by the Com-
mission.

Applicants who complete a basic or family
mediation training course outside of Arkan-
sas must also complete the Commission’s
course on Mediator Ethics, Law and General
Practices in Arkansas.

Applicants must complete the certification
process within five years of completing basic
mediation training. If a complete certifica-
tion application has not been submitted to
the Commission within the five year period,
the applicant must retake all training re-
quired for certification in the juvenile divi-
sion. If the applicant can demonstrate that
they have actively mediated since receiving
the basic mediation training, this require-
ment may be waived at the Commission’s
discretion.

. Education

Have a bachelor’s level degree with at least
two years work experience in family issues;
or

Have a master’s degree or higher; or

Have a bachelor’s degree plus a graduate

level certificate in conflict resolution; or

Have a juris doctorate or equivalent; or

5. Have substantial, demonstrated, and satisfac-
tory knowledge, skills, abilities, and experi-
ence as a mediator in the applicable field of
mediation.

c. Practical Experience

1. Have co-mediated three cases from the juve-
nile division of the Arkansas Circuit courts, at
least one of which must be a dependency-
neglect case.

2.  Co-mediations must be completed in Arkan-
sas with a mediator who is certified by the
Arkansas ADR Commission and designated
as a juvenile mediation mentor. The Com-
mission may consider evaluations made by
the mentor mediator when determining
whether or not the applicant is qualified for
certification in the juvenile category.

d. Ethics

1. Be of good moral character; and

2. Accept and follow the Arkansas Alternative
Dispute Resolution Commission’s Require-
ments for the Conduct of Mediation and
Mediators.

e. Examination

1. Prior to granting certification, the Commission
may require applicants to successfully com-
plete an examination on mediation con-
cepts, ethics, and other topics relevant to
mediation in the Arkansas Circuit Court sys-
tem.

For more information on mediator certification,
please visit the Arkansas ADR Commission website

at: https://courts.arkansas.gov/adr/




