Rule 4. Appeal €ヤ When Taken.

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionSend by emailSend by emailPDF versionPDF version

(a) Time for filing notice of appeal. Except as otherwise provided in subdivisions (b) and (c) of this rule, a notice of appeal shall be filed within thirty (30) days from the entry of the judgment, decree or order appealed from. A notice of cross-appeal shall be filed within ten (10) days after receipt of the notice of appeal, except that in no event shall a cross-appellant have less than thirty (30) days from the entry of the judgment, decree or order within which to file a notice of cross-appeal. A notice of appeal filed after the circuit court announces a decision but before the entry of the judgment, decree, or order shall be treated as filed on the day after the judgment, decree, or order is entered.
(b) Extension of time for filing notice of appeal.
(1) Upon timely filing in the circuit court of a motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict under Rule 50(b) of the Arkansas Rules of Civil Procedure, a motion to amend the court's findings of fact or to make additional findings under Rule 52(b), a motion for a new trial under Rule 59(a), or any other motion to vacate, alter, or amend the judgment made no later than 10 days after entry of judgment, the time for filing a notice of appeal shall be extended for all parties. The notice of appeal shall be filed within thirty (30) days from entry of the order disposing of the last motion outstanding. However, if the circuit court neither grants nor denies the motion within thirty (30) days of its filing, the motion shall be deemed denied by operation of law as of the thirtieth day, and the notice of appeal shall be filed within thirty (30) days from that date.
(2) A notice of appeal filed before disposition of any of the motions listed in paragraph (1) of this subdivision shall be treated as filed on the day after the entry of an order disposing of the last motion outstanding or the day after the motion is deemed denied by operation of law. Such a notice is effective to appeal the underlying judgment, decree, or order. A party who also seeks to appeal from the grant or denial of the motion shall within thirty (30) days amend the previously filed notice, complying with Rule 3(e). No additional fees will be required for filing an amended notice of appeal.
(3) Upon a showing of failure to receive notice of the judgment, decree or order from which appeal is sought, a showing of diligence by counsel, and a determination that no party would be prejudiced, the circuit court shall, upon motion filed within 180 days of entry of the judgment, decree, or order, extend the time for filing the notice of appeal for a period of fourteen (14) days from the day of entry of the extension order. Notice of any such motion shall be given to all other parties in accordance with Rule 5 of the Arkansas Rules of Civil Procedure. Expiration of the 180-day period specified in this paragraph does not limit the circuit court's power to act pursuant to Rule 60 of Arkansas Rules of Civil Procedure.
(c) Exception for election cases. If a statute of this State pertaining to elections prescribes a time period for taking an appeal, the period so prescribed shall apply in any case subject to the statute.
(d) When judgment is entered. A judgment or order is entered within the meaning of this rule when it is filed in accordance with Administrative Order No. 2(b).

History Text: 

History. Amended July 7, 1986, effective September 15, 1986; amended December 21, 1987, effective March 14, 1988; amended November 8, 1993, effective January 1, 1994; amended July 10, 1995; adopted and amended July 10, 1995, effective January 1, 1996; amended January 22, 1998; amended January 28, 1999; amended January 27, 2000; amended February 1, 2001; amended June 7, 2001, effective July 1, 2001; amended March 13, 2003; amended January 22, 2004; amended May 25, 2006

Associated Court Rules: 
Rules of Appellate Procedure—Civil